The Senate is the highest academic body and the Vice-Chancellor shall be its Chairman.    It is responsible for all academic matters of the University, including the provision of courses, the approval of the syllabuses, the organisation and the conduct of teaching and research, the admission and assessment of students, their progress through examination and otherwise.   In carrying out these functions, it requires the concurrence of Council to provide the necessary financial and other resources. Senate is the ultimate academic decision-making body.    College Boards, Departments/Centres, Boards and its other Committees shall advise Senate in academic matters.


  • The composition of the Senate shall be as follows-
  • The Vice-Chancellor who shall be the  Chairman;
  • The Deputy Vice-Chancellor;
  • The University Librarian;
  • All Deans of Colleges;
  • The Dean of Post Graduate School;
  • The Dean of Students’ Affairs;
  • The Director of Academic Institute;
  • The Director of Research Center;
  • All Heads of Academic Departments;
  • Two representatives of each College, not below the rank of Senior Lecturer;
  • Two representatives of the Congregation; and
  • The Registrar shall be the Secretary to Senate.
Current Senate Members
Prof. Ayandiji Daniel AinaVice-Chancellor
Mr. J. I. AdeyomoyeUniversity Librarian
Dr. O. O. Bob-SoileAg. Dean, COPAS
Prof. Olufemi OnabajoDean, COSOMAS
Prof. Nosa Owens-IbieDean, COPOS
Prof. Segun AjibolaDean, CBS
Dr. Joan MbagwuDean, Student Affairs/H.O.D Criminology & Security Studies
Dr. Olumuyiwa OlamadeAg. HOD, Economics
Dr. Ayodele OloyedeAg. HOD, Computer Sc, Mathematics, & Statistic
Dr. Kayode OkunadeAg. HOD, Mass Communication
Dr. Oladele Mabekoje/p>Ag. HOD, Department of Biological Sciences & Biotechnology
Prof. Gabriel EmachetaHOD, Department of Accounting & Finance
Dr. Dare-AbelAg. HOD, Architecture/Ag. Dean, COLENSMA
Dr. Olawale AdetoyiAg. HOD, International Relations & Political Science
Dr. Akintunde AlagbeAg. HOD, Business Administration
Prof. Olufemi OludimuDirector, Academic Planning
Arc. B. O. KoleoshoUniversity Chief Examiner
Dr. Moses AkibinuDirector, Institution Effectiveness and Quality Assurance
Mrs. Folake OkorRegistrar & Secretary to Council