The Council is the highest policy-making body of the University. It shall have the custody, control and disposition of all property and finances of the University.    Council has joint responsibility with Senate in the establishment of any new College, Institute or Department.   It has the ultimate responsibility for the appointment and discipline of staff.    Members of Council shall be appointed by the Board of Trustees and shall serve a term of three years renewable for a final term of three years. They shall be drawn from the general public to represent a variety of interests, including gender sensitivity.


  • The Pro-Chancellor, who shall be a person of proven integrity and an astute manager, shall be the Chairman  of the Council;
  • The Vice-Chancellor;
  • The Deputy Vice-Chancellor(s);
  • The Registrar who shall be a member as well as the Secretary to the Council;
  • Three nominees of the Proprietor representing a variety of interests including at least one woman;
  • Two external members of the public in their personal cognizance including a woman appointed by the Proprietor;
  • Four members representing the Senate who shall be Professors from different Colleges;
  • Two members representing the Congregation, one of whom shall be an academic and the other a non-teaching staff;
  • One member representing the Convocation;
  • One member representing the Alumni Association;
  • One member representing the National Universities Commission;
  • One representative of the Lagos State Ministry of Education;
  • One representative of Imota, the host community.

The Council shall meet on quarterly basis (4 times a year), without prejudice to special meetings as events might dictate.

Current Council Members
Prof. Fola Tayo, MFRPro-Chancellor & Chairman of Council
Prof. Ayandiji Daniel AinaVice-Chancellor
Prof. (Mrs.) Olubunmi A. OtubanjoExternal Member
Chief Reuben OnwubikoExternal Member
Mr. Olusoga BadejoProprietor’s Representative
Chief (Mrs.) Kemi NelsonProprietor’s Representative
Engr. Godwin JiboduProprietor’s Representative
Mr. H.O. Anaziah         NUC Representative
Mr. Ademola AmureRepresentative, Lagos State Govt.
Prof. Olukunle IyandaSenate Representative
Prof. S. A. DaramolaSenate Representative
Pof. Kabiru O. AkinyemiHost Community
Dr. Akeem B. OyefoluHost Community
Mr. Joshua OlorunfemiCongregation  Representative
Dr. Babatunde OdesanyaConvocation Representative
Mrs. Folake OkorRegistrar & Secretary to Council