Department of Biological Science & Biotechnology

Department of Biological Sciences and Biotechnology deals with the study of living things.The primary scientific approach to the teaching of the Biological Sciences adopted by the Department is an essential vehicle for the acquisition, by each student, of a personal and mature outlook in the handling of evidences and careful inferences from experimental data.

The Department offers three Bachelor Degree programmes viz:

•    Microbiology and Industrial Biotechnology
•    Plants Science and Biotechnology
•    Zoology and Aquaculture

In the various programmes, the aims of the learning process are served by judicious use of laboratory and field work and exercises in problem analysis.  In our undergraduate programmes, the student’s achievement is assessed by in-course assignments, tests, and formal examinations designed to confirm that the student can recall relevant information but can also apply it to the analysis of problems.
At the end of the Microbiology programmes, the student will have a sound knowledge of fundamental cell and molecular biology and its application to biotechnology.


Staff List

Adubi, Taiwo O. B.Sc., M. Sc., (Lagos) Assistant Lecturer
Kotun, Bunmi B.Sc.(Lagos), M. Sc., (Ibadan) Assistant Lecturer
Ayedun, J.O. B.Sc. (Hons) Microbiology Higher Technical Officer

The Department offers three (3) programmes leading to the award of Bachelor Degrees in -

a.    Microbiology and Industrial Biotechnology
b.    Plant Sciences and Biotechnology
c.    Zoology and Aquaculture

The programmes have a common 100 level course structure.  This is summarized in Table 4

The workload for the first session is 45 units, comprising 22 compulsory units and 23 required units.  All students admitted through UTME to the Department must offer all the courses.  Course structures for the individual programmes at 200 to 400 levels are summarized in Tables 5, 6 and 7 for programmes a – c above respectively.

Admission requirements –  All students seeking admission into the department must have a minimum of 5 credits in Mathematics, English, Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

You can view Tables 4, 5, 6, and 7  as {PDF} and the course synopsis {PDF}

Caleb University
Imota, Lagos, Nigeria
234-01-2910684, 234-01-2910686